108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Global IP Address

SOLVED
Go to solution
Ken Sutherland

Global IP Address

Dear experts,

We have a c7000 Enclosure with 8 blades (128 cores), two Blade Server Onboard Administrator boards, and two GbE2c switches. We are able to access the Onboard Administrator from any PC connected to the internet via a global IP address. But we can't figure out how to access the system with ssh so that we can execute programs remotely.

One idea we've had is to use an USB Ethernet adapter plugged into the front of one of the blades (e.g. Blade1A), via the local I/O cable. That should give us another NIC that we can assign (another) global IP to. Then we could access all the blades from there. Does this make sense? Or is there a way to access the blades via the onboard administrator?

I'm sorry, I'm totally new to all this blade stuff!
8 REPLIES 8
Benoy Daniel
Trusted Contributor

All the blades can be accessed via ILO. You need to first assign IP to ILO's.
juan quesada
Respected Contributor
Solution

hi,

the dungle cable (the one you have connected to the front of the blade) is normally not used.
Blade enclosure administration is performed via Onboard administrator and server blade administration is made via ILO which can be accessed directly from putty or Internet Explorer or via the ILO tab from the onboard administrator.
This ILO gives you full virtual presence to the server either GUI or CLI (internet explorer, firefox, telnet or SSH).

if the onboard administrator ethernet cable is connected to a switch with DHCP, all ILOs will have DHCP IP's, if OA has an static IP you have to set all ILO IPs manually.
On both, DHCP or static configurations, the settings can be set/check at the EBIPA (enclosure bay IP addresing) tab from the OA.