3492 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

HP c7000 Blade Enclosures, GbE2c Blade switches and Multicasting

Mike Rother
Advisor

HP c7000 Blade Enclosures, GbE2c Blade switches and Multicasting

Hello,
I am new to HP blade switch configuration.

We have 2 HP c7000 Blade Enclosures with 15
ProLiant BL460c G6.
The Enclosures are equipped with GbE2c Layer 2/3 Blade Switches which have actual firmware.

Now we connect one of the copper ports of the Blade switch (nothing configured on the switch) to a Juniper EX3200 Gigabit Copper switch.

Link is up, pinging the Blades from another HP Server connected to the Juniper works fine.

When we try to use Ghost Server to push Images on the Blades, we have not managed to get this multicasting working by now.

Does anybody have a suggestion on how to get the multicasted imaging service to run?

Is there anything needed to be configured on the Blade Swtiches to make multicasting via it work?

Any suggestion on solving this or troubleshooting highly appreciated.

Thanks in advantage and kind regards
Mike

7 REPLIES 7
Adrian Clint
Honored Contributor

Re: HP c7000 Blade Enclosures, GbE2c Blade switches and Multicasting

Mike,

I dont think so, but I'm not sure.
Also check the switch forum site and see if there have been any similar questions.
http://www.bladeconnect.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewforum&f=3
HEM_2
Honored Contributor

The default config of gbe2c L2/3 switches is that every port is in VLAN 1 and IGMP snooping is disabled. This means that Multicast traffic will be flooded to all ports of the GBE2c.

So, to answer the question, No, nothing needs to be configured on the GBE2c's in order for multicast to work.

Do the servers PXE Boot OK?

to eliminate any possible GBE2c bugs you might try going to fw version 2.0.60:

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareIndex.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodNameId=3352726&prodTypeId=3709945&prodSeriesId=3352717&swLang=13&taskId=135&swEnvOID=1005
Mike Rother
Advisor