BladeSystem - General
1752778 Members
6019 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion

ISCSI Queue Depth Adjustment - 554FLB Cards - ESXI 5.0 Update 2 - ProLiant BL460c

FelipeG

ISCSI Queue Depth Adjustment - 554FLB Cards - ESXI 5.0 Update 2 - ProLiant BL460c

Hello, I've been banging my head against the wall for about 2 months trying to figure this out.  I've put in 4 calls to Vmware and 3 calls to HP support.  No one can seem to find a definitive answer.

We have 6 460C Blades with 554FLB Cards in them, we are using VirtualConnect Modules in the back of the chassis.

The blades all run esxi 5.0 update 2, the storage is a Hitachi HUS 130, we are using ISCSI to access the storage, and are using the hardware oneconnect UCNA cards that are built into the 554FLBs.   

We've been having some performance issues with the SAN, nothing horrible but its not performing as expected, we've been working with hitachi, hp, cisco and vmware to clean up any archtecture issues and we have a clean bill of health configuration wise except for one thing, that is that the queue depths on the hosts are set to high according to Hitachi.  They are recommending we reduce them because there are too many commands hitting the controllers which is causing some latency.  

The issue is no one, NO ONE can seem to verify how exactly you lower the queue depths on the emulex ucna one connect cards that are part of the 554FLB's inside the blades.  I've been on the phone with HP for hours and I've had the same case open for a good 2 months.  I cannot find documentation anywhere on either the hp or emulex site about it, there are no options to adjust the queue depths when you look at the variables available to change on the be2iscsi driver in vmware, there are no options within the BIOS of the HP Blade, there are no options when using one command manager nor the vpshere plugin provided by emulex.  Surely a card design specifically for ISCSI that includes TOE has someway to adjust the queue depths...