108799 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: NIC Question for BL495c G6

SOLVED
Go to solution
Michael A. McKenney
Respected Contributor

In the configuration.  Shut command under interface. 

Koopa
Frequent Advisor

I'm sorry, do you mean i log on a cisco 3020 switch and select shut in there? or do you mean through the OA? or can you do in the RBSU for the blade?

Thanks

Michael A. McKenney
Respected Contributor

It would would be on the blade center configuration for the Flex-10 module itself.   If you have IRF configured, you would probably also need to disable those ports under IRF at the interface level. 

Koopa
Frequent Advisor

I appreciate you trying to help but .....

by the flex 10 module, do you mean the switch that should be in a interconnect bay, if so we have no modules installed in this rack, we only have 2 x cisco 3020 and 4 x 8gb brocade fibre switches.

what is IRF? Incase you didn't guess i'm a hardware engineer and don't get involved in the software side, but i'm trying to help out with my limited knowledge.

Thanks

Michael A. McKenney
Respected Contributor

I am an electrical engineer, B.EE.   I designed hardware and built it.  How do you design hardware without knowing the software programming for it?   You are configuring switches and Flex-10 in a device, you need to understand the configuration of the hardware to get it to function properly.   I would suggest drawing up the configuration on paper and determine how you want it to work before configuring the hardware.  

You are configuring Flex-10 module.  What is it installed in?  What protocols are you using? 

How do you want the Flex-10 ports to interact with your switches?  This will determine the protocols and configuration. 

We went with VMWare on the C7000.  it adds a layer of complexity to the design but it adds features.  

Koopa
Frequent Advisor