5326 Online
108757 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Newbie - OA cannont communicate with blade iLO

Robert.Costa
Occasional Advisor

Newbie - OA cannont communicate with blade iLO

OK, not total newbie but here is the question:
Why is it that if I put my OAs on one subnet and assign EBIPA IPs to my blades' iLO on a different subnet, the two are unable to communicate?

Setup:
c7000 chassis
2 OAs
16 BL460G6 blades2
2 VC Flex-10s (not the issue)

Working Example (std class c subnet):
OA=192.168.100.10
EBIPA=192.168.100.20,21, etc
RESULT= works fine, I can launch iLO remote console and get to the blades.

Non-working Example (again, std class C)
OA=192.168.100.10
EBIPA=192.168.101.20,21, etc
RESULT: OA cannot communicate with iLO - no remote console.

I guess I don't understand how the OA talks to iLO. I would like to have my management interfaces on our production subnet and all of my iLO traffic a private net. If there is no routing between the two subnets will it not work? Would the communication between the OAs and the iLO interfaces on the blades have to leave the chassis, hit my routers and then go back in?

In the past I have just put the OAs and iLO on the same subnet to get around this but I'm still not sure how it actually works.

Sorry for the long post..

7 REPLIES 7
WFHC-WI
Honored Contributor

Hi Robert,

Communication to the iLO ports on your blades is done through the cabling connected to the Onboard Administrator. The OA cannot handle a trunk port, so you can only present one subnet to the OA module. (Even if you have a redundant OA on a separate VLAN, all iLO communication will travel only through the active OA.)

You will need to put your OA and iLO IPs in the same subnet (like your working example above).

Hope that helps, good luck
Robert.Costa
Occasional Advisor

I was thinking that but I was not able to find it specifically in the documentation. I'd really like to be able to point it out as published rather than "observed" behavior...