108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Performance Degradation due to Inter-BladeServer Bandwidth Sharing

SOLVED
Go to solution
Nima Gh.
Regular Advisor

Performance Degradation due to Inter-BladeServer Bandwidth Sharing

We are using a c-3000 enclosure with 8 device modules and two interconnect modules (bay1 and bay2). we have defined 3 networks: input,process and output. Input network uses the uplink in bay2 to receive incoming 10g traffic and to dispatch it through its port on bay1 (2-a) to Process network. 7 modules on process network receive the 10g bandwidth (for each module) from and send the results to the output (1-a bay1).
The Problem is this: Bridging mechanism on flex-10 broadcast the whole traffic to all ports! and this causes the performance degradation! is there anyway to control the traffic? should we increase the interconnect modules or mezzanine cards or something??
I really do apologize if this seems to be silly! But I'm a newbie on BladeServers!!
15 REPLIES 15
JKytsi
Honored Contributor

Re: Performance Degradation due to Inter-BladeServer Bandwidth Sharing

You have flex-10 in interconnect bay 1 and 2 ? What blades and what mezzazine cards You have.
Remember to give Kudos to answers! (click the KUDOS star)

You can find me from Twitter @JKytsi
Nima Gh.
Regular Advisor

Thanks for your reply! I have to correct my previous statement! We have just one interconnect module on bay 1. I really do apologize!
We use HP Proliant BL460c G6 servers. and no external mezzanine cards!
JKytsi
Honored Contributor

How are your VC networks configured ?
Remember to give Kudos to answers! (click the KUDOS star)

You can find me from Twitter @JKytsi
Nima Gh.
Regular Advisor

--------------------------------------
INPUT-Net: uplink:Bay1:X3 LAG ID: 25 10g (LOM:1-a on server in bay 7) receives the 10G traffic

PROCESS-Net: (LOM:1-a on server in bay 7 and LOM:2-a on other servers) transmits 10g traffic from server in bay 7 to all servers