1745786 Members
3420 Online
108722 Solutions
New Discussion

BL460's do not see fiber disks ifrom MSA2000

johnmaag
Occasional Advisor

BL460's do not see fiber disks ifrom MSA2000

A little background is I have never used fiber before. I started buying some 10G patchcords for use with Cisco network switches and things just worked. This got me overconfident and so I have tried the same with fiber san and it no worky. The fiber cables I purchased are 3m LC-LC Duplex 50/125 Multimode 10 Gb Fiber Patch Cable Aqua om3

I have a qlogic card in a standalone server and things work fine to thew MSA 2000 uysing the above cable so we know the MSA2000 is good. I see a LUN when I scan and was able to create a file system, etc.

This is all an issue somewhere in the HP7000. I have two fiber modules. I have a Cisco 9124E in interconnect slot 3 and I have a brocade 4/24 in interconnect slot 4. Each blade has a Qlogic QMH2562. When I do a scan on the Qlogic mezzanine card it sees nothing.

I have the Cisco 9124 hooked with fiber from its X1 slot to controller A module 1 on the MSA 2000. I have the separate server connected to controller A module 2 on the MSA2000. I have the Brocade connected to Controller B Module 1 ont he MSA 2000 and an unconnected SFP in Controller B module 2. Controller A module 1 hooked to the 9124 showed nothing when hooked to the Cisco 9124 module that came with it in X1. Controller B Module 1 hooked to the Brocade can tell something is there.  I pulled an SFP from the brocade and put it into the X1 slot of the cisco and now the MSA 2000 sees something but I have no link on the 9124..

I have some really basic questions like 

1. Are all SFP modules the same? So far I have been buying cisco for the cisco netowkr switches and HP for the MSA2000. Did I make a mistake by usign one of the Brocade SFP's int he Cisco 9124E?