108786 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: HD options new blades.

SOLVED
Go to solution
infonull
Occasional Advisor

HD options new blades.

Hey all. Just purchased a bunch of new blades (second hand, new for me).

I have received them and they are not seeing the HD's. No lights or anything. When I remove the cover, I can see nothing is connected to the HD backplane (not sure if thats what you call it)

I can see there is no Smart controller hardware on top or any cables to it or anything.

Just need to know what my options are? don't care about speed or raid, only takes me 10 mins to reclone to any new hd. I am fairly new to this. Just need cheapest option to be able to see hd's.

Thanks in advance

7 REPLIES 7
Jags_21
HPE Pro

Hi,

All HPE Blades have an integrated storage controller by default supporting RAID 0 or RAID 1, please search the support.hpe.com portal for more details on the model you own

Thanks,

Any personal opinions expressed are mine, and not official statements on behalf of Hewlett Packard Enterprise.
I work for HPE

Accept or Kudo

Torsten.
Acclaimed Contributor

Without the exact model nobody can help you.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
infonull
Occasional Advisor

Oh boy, I can't believe I forgot that, sorry, BL460c gen9. Thanks for the replies too. Please correct me if I am wrong then, but after looking at details of the Gen9, I think I need to buy a cable that will connect the backplane of the hard drive caddy to the internal sata port? Is this correct? Also does that mean I cannot use my sas drives? They seem to push into the caddy OK, albeit a bit tight, and they stick out a bit.

Thanks again,

Jono

BPSingh
HPE Pro
Solution

Greetings!

I think I need to buy a cable that will connect the backplane of the hard drive caddy to the internal sata port?