7215 Online
108793 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: RAM no Longer Detected on BL460c Generation 8

drosich
Occasional Contributor

RAM no Longer Detected on BL460c Generation 8

Hello everyone,

I am new to servers and enterprise-grade equipment and encountered an issue a few days ago that I can't seem to solve. I have a c7000 chassis fitted with two gen 8 blades and five gen 5 blades. On Sunday I decided to move the whole server setup to another part of the house, and to do that I realized that I had to disassemble the whole server so that it would be light enough to carry and move to another rack. Upon reinstalling at the new location, first all of the server blades were labeled by the chassis as "power delayed," and I needed to clear the VC profile. After doing this, all of the blades turned on just fine except one of the generation eights. After connecting a monitor and keyboard to the blade I saw that it would boot through the bios and begin the HP Proliant system check over (power, thermals, processors, and of course RAM). In my current configuration, I have 128GB of DDR3 1066MHz RAM in that blade. However, while the blade is booting up it shows that it only registers 96 GB of RAM in the server. I will also leave a link to the error message that it shows for the undetected RAM.

https://photos.google.com/share/AF1QipNdiFiyvrknksfArKAWq4LOJRAAG8WOMzRpUD2RPrlU24ckBRGs4qVvgmLOc6r7sA?key=Nmp1aXBIa1VBUjRYZHBWUUNkRHBqZlRta2c5amln