BladeSystem - General
1748255 Members
4129 Online
108760 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Advise on expansion VC configuration with 1/10Gb VC-enet modules?

jochem_D
Visitor

Advise on expansion VC configuration with 1/10Gb VC-enet modules?

Hello Everybody!

This is my first time posting on this forum, so i am sorry if i missed anything. I have some questions about Virtual Connect compatibility and configuration. We are looking to make some changes to our enclosure/VC and I have found some of the information, but I am now looking for some confirmation or other insights to our plans. We are no Virtual Connect experts and have not changed anything in the initial enclosure setup since we first put it together. So reading about the new features, models and options can be a bit dazzling :)

We have a c7000 enclosure with 6 1/10Gb VC-Enet modules. We recently replaced our BL460c G1 blades with new BL460c Gen8 blades that are equipped with a HP FlexFabric 10Gb 2-port 554FLB Adapter and a HP Ethernet 1Gb 4-port 366M Adapter in mezzanine slot 2. To make everything work we upgraded all firmware (enclosure and VC) to version 3.60.

We are now looking to increase the amount NIC’s in the blades by buying extra adapters to install in Mezzanine slot 1. These adapters will also be connected to 1/10Gb VC-Enet modules (we have some spare modules from an enclosure that has been decommissioned).