HPE Community read-only access December 15, 2018
This is a maintenance upgrade. You will be able to read articles and posts, but not post or reply.
Hours:
Dec 15, 4:00 am to 10:00 am UTC
Dec 14, 10:00 pm CST to Dec 15, 4:00 am CST
Dec 14, 8:00 pm PST to Dec 15, 2:00 am PST
BladeSystem Virtual Connect
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to get original MAC addresses & World Wide Names (WWN) back

 
chuckk281
Trusted Contributor

How to get original MAC addresses & World Wide Names (WWN) back

Karene was looking for some help:

 

********************

 

In reference to an issue mentioned previously, (WWN on VCFC HBA NVRAM being overwritten at some point and now show incorrect WWN), how do we revert them back to factory default? Is there a DIP switch to clear NVRAM on Mezz or is there an option when flashing NVRAM?

 

***********************

 

Monty answered:

 

*************************

 

No DIP switches are needed – the OA automatically clears the VC profile instructions from the FRU eeprom when:

  1. If the Virtual Connect domain is deleted, then all the FRU VC profile instructions are deleted from the embedded NIC and all mezz cards.
  2. If the server blade or mezz card is moved to another enclosure with no VC domain the FRU VC profile instructions are deleted by the OA before the blade is powered on.
  3. If the server blade or mezz card is moved to another bay or enclosure with a VC domain the FRU VC profile instructions are replaced by the profile instructions for that bay, or if no profile is set the FRU VC profile instructions are deleted by the OA before the blade is powered on.

 

Remember that any change to the FRU VC profile instructions are executed during POST – until that time, the iLO will be reporting the embedded NIC information from the last POST.

 

****************

 

Dave also joined the conversation:

 

************************

 

Karene,

                The virtual WWN, MACs and serial #s are only applied when a VCM/VCEM profile is assigned to a bay. If you move the server into a different enclosure(without VC), remove the profile or modify the profile to use factory, then they will resume using the factory.

 

You can create a profile or modify the existing using the ‘Advanced’ button to select ‘Factory’, but only when virtual was selected at the initial setup. If the customer selected factory at setup, then the option will be grayed out.

 

********************

 

Any other comments or suggestions?