1753261 Members
5026 Online
108792 Solutions
New Discussion

Problem connecting VC-Flex10d to anything else

PDP-Fan
Valued Contributor

Problem connecting VC-Flex10d to anything else

I'm relatively new to VC-Flex... I'm working in the repair shop and I have to test some VC-Flex10d modules. I managed it to establish a link between two servers in two blade enclosures. Fo far so good...

But I can't get a working link between the VC-Flex and any other ethernet device (a switch for example). I don't have a 10GB switch to play with but I assume that the VC 10GB ports can also handle a 1GB link and thep down. Or am I wrong??

I have a 10GB Short Range SFP+ in both VC modules. Port speed ist set to AUTO.

Do I need special "VC compatible" switches for that?

"If it seems illogical... you just don't have enough information"
12 REPLIES 12
TVVJ
HPE Pro

Re: Problem connecting VC-Flex10d to anything else

Hi,

The VC Flex-10/10D quickspecs does not state any restrictions on switches compatiblity for uplink connectivity. Any combination of 1Gb and 10Gb cables can be used to interconnect the Virtual Connect Modules.

However the following provides recommended configurations (note that a built-in 10Gb link is provided between modules in horizontally adjacent bays).

Supported cable lengths on 10Gb uplinks are 3 to 15 meters and supported 10Gb stacking links (connecting between two HP Virtual Connect Ethernet Modules) are 0.5 to 7 meters.

Interconnecting the modules allows all Ethernet NICs on all server blades in the Virtual Connect domain to have access to any Virtual Connect uplink port.

By using these module-to-module links, a single pair of uplinks can be used as the data center network connections for the entire Virtual Connect domain, and allows any server blade to be connected to any Ethernet network.

Regards,

Vijayasarathy

I work for HPE
Views expressed herein are my personal opinion and are not the views of HPE

Accept or Kudo

Jimmy Vance
HPE Pro