1754017 Members
7698 Online
108811 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Virtual Connect why must I trunk?

jsimonelli
Occasional Advisor

Going over cookbooks and other material I have found that I will end up having to Trunk connectivity. I will say up front that I am new to Virtual Connect and have dealt with cisco devices in the past, so having many items put into one "virtual" device is completely new to me. I do have some questions and concerns and hope that the community can give me more insight on some of the questions I may have. The first thing i found out that boggles my mind is that I will need to go out of the VC into my cisco switches to be routed back or interconnected on vlans up in the cisco switch. I guess it seems to me that I figured that i could do this within VC but either I cant do this without trunking the uplinks or havent found the solution on the web interface. Problem is that I feel I dont have as much control over the network within VC or the web interface, I cant seem to be able to troubleshoot as much as I could with any cisco router or switch, like specifically watch packets go from certain ip's/mac addresses. Also, why should i have to follow the trunk concept done by so many. does the internal network within VC work as fibre, and if so wouldnt the network be somewhat degraded going from fibre style (within VC) and out to a gigabit switch outside to handle trunks and VLAN interconnectivity.
6 REPLIES 6
David Billot
Frequent Advisor