cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Virtualization on c3000

smartswitch
Occasional Visitor

Virtualization on c3000

I have been using the ‘free’ VMWare software for several years but I am new to HP Blades. In reading all the comparisons between IBM, Dell and HP, I chose HP as the platform on which to build. I want to start consolidating the 30+ servers we have to save space, operating cost and management time. I must admit up front, I did not do my due-diligence in learning about the c3000 and what it would take to setup a VM environment. I went with most of what the ‘sales’ person suggested I would need for hardware and decided to purchase the VM Software through a less expensive reseller. So, now I have the c3000 chassis, 2 BL460 servers, HP GbE2c Layer 2/3 Ethernet Blade Switch, SB40c and SB600c (6x146gb). My first baby step was to migrate 4 Accounting servers to this setup. I thought all the bases were covered with a group of servers, connectivity, storage and backup. However I was not familiar with the “partner” slot and do not understand how that is conducive to a VM environment. I have using the ‘free’ VM ESX software to create VMs because I do not want to spend more money if this will not fulfill our needs. How do I setup the BL460s, SB40c and SB600c for VM servers, storage and backup? With what I have now, who can help guide me in getting a VM setup?
4 REPLIES
smartswitch
Occasional Visitor

Virtualization on c3000

CORRECTION: I do NOT have a SB600c - The tape blade is a 448c.
chopper3
Frequent Advisor

Virtualization on c3000