Advancing Life & Work
1753969 Members
7138 Online
108811 Solutions
New Article
DesireeCH

An amazing career journey: Politecnico di Milano graduate, 10 years at HPE and counting

IMG-20190611-WA0013.jpg

I am Elisa and I graduated in 2008 with a Management & Manufacturing Engineering degree from Politecnico di Milano.  Six months before graduating, I started working as a Researcher and a Consultant. It was a wonderful and absolutely useful experience but, after 18 months, I decided I wanted to try something new.  I had always thought consultancy was the right choice for me, but it wasn’t (at least, until now).

IMG-20190611-WA0014.jpgWhy did you decide to join HPE?

Whilst at university, I saw a HPE company presentation and I thought “this would be MY company, if it had been not an IT company!” – at that time I didn’t know exactly what an IT company like HPE does (plus Information Technology was not my favorite subject).

I was fascinated by the values of the company and I realized that those values/culture were also mine: the value and importance of employees and customers, respect, collaboration, act, innovation, teamwork.

I decided to join the Sales Strategy and Planning team at HPE. After one year working in the Sales department, I realized, to my surprise, that I am a salesperson. I am keen on building relationships, managing stress, being organized and paying attention to people’s needs. I spent four years working in the sales team an afterwards I joined the Account Management team, focusing on insurance and bank institutes.

After 10 years at HPE, I can now say how fantastic this company is – I have had the opportunity to cover so many interesting roles!

Are you doing the work of your dreams?

Yes, I am!