1753491 Members
4930 Online
108794 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

4200G Network Connectivity

BenjaminOwen
Occasional Contributor

4200G Network Connectivity

I am have recently replaced two 3COM Superstack 3 4924 switches(End Of Life) with two 3COM 4200G switches which are connected to one another. I am new to the 3COM CLI but I am familiar with Cisco. I am using the factory default configuration where everything is connected to the default VLAN. I am experiencing a network reliability issue where it seems that the switches are not sharing information between one another. See example below. I have tried several things such as enabling NDP, and upgrading the IOS. I have also tried using Knoppix in the all the machines to keep the network configuration simple. Does anyone have any ideas as to why I might be experiencing this problem.

Example

Switch X (192.168.231.41) is connected to Switch Y (192.168.231.42)

Machine A (192.168.231.80) is connected to Switch X

Machine B (192.168.231.125) is connected to Switch X

Machine C (192.168.231.122) is connected to Switch X

Machine M (192.168.231.61) is connected to Switch Y

Machine N (192.168.231.62) is connected to Switch Y

Machine A can ping Machine M but cannot ping Machine N

Machine B can ping Machine N but cannot ping Machine M

Machine C can ping Machine A, Machine B, Machine M, and Machine N

Machine M can ping Machine A but cannot ping Machine B

Machine N can ping Machine B but cannot ping Machine A

2 REPLIES 2
wolfgangB
Occasional Advisor

Re: 4200G Network Connectivity

Very strange. Usually they work out-of-the-box, with no configuration necessary.

I'd check this:

1. (web GUI) check the link status of all observed ports - sometimes auto-negotiation doesn't succeed (on the host side, that is); speed advertised, speed negotiated, half/full duplex mode, both on the switch and the host NIC.