3429 Online
108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: HPE 5820 - IRF feature and SAN/data traffic isolation

nmsden
Occasional Contributor

HPE 5820 - IRF feature and SAN/data traffic isolation

Hello,

I'm new to HPE networking products, and have som questions regarding the HP 5820-24XG-SFP+ and IRF feature.

First of all. Is there any difference between the JC102A and the JC102B. As far as I can see both products run Comware 7. Maybe JC102B is a HP produced unit, while JC102A is from H3C fabric, as I can see no difference?

Second question. Both VMware hosts and SAN will be connected to the same switches and I want to make a multihomed redundant design using a L2 network. The guests on the VMware host will have public IP addresses and could be target for DDoS attacks which overloads switch uplinks and interconnections interrupting SAN traffic (iSCSI). Therefor I want to isolate VMware guest data traffic and SAN traffic not to use the same uplinks/interconnects, but reading about IRF I find this a challange if I understand It correctly.

I attached a topology of how I would make it without IRF technology (see attachment to the right).
The basic Idea is simple - double interconnects between switches at the same site (each dedicated for SAN and DATA), and one interconnect between the sites for each switch. Spanning tree is blocking SAN and DATA traffic asynchronous between the sites, so the only scenario where SAN and DATA traffic would share the same interconnect between sites is when a switch malfunctions or the fiber link goes down.

If I should migrate this setup to a 4 member IRF I think the traffic isolation becomes a problem. As I understand IRF creates LACP like groups between IRF peers, so looking at my topology the double interconnects between switch 1+3 and 2+4 would be load balanced across all VLANS making SAN and DATA traffic share the links.