Comware Based
1748079 Members
5137 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Hooking up the 5900AF-48G-4XG-2QSFP+ to a router.

Spork_Schivago
Occasional Advisor

Hooking up the 5900AF-48G-4XG-2QSFP+ to a router.

Hi!

I have some experience with rackmount servers, managed switches, etc.   But my experience is a bit dated.   We have a 5900AF-48G-4XG-2QSFP+ 48-port gigabit switch.   I had some questions.   I apologize if they sound dumb.

How do people generally hook these switches to a router?   Do we buy a transceiever and hook the router to one of the 40 Gbps ports?   We do plug an ethernet cable from the router to one of the ports?

We're trying to setup a VLAN.   Right now, we want 8 ports on one network (something like 192.168.2.0 network), and the other 40 on another network (something like 192.168.3.0 network).   We want them both to be able to access the outside world through the router.   We've hooked the router to the management port on the switch, we can access the outside world from the switch.   We setup our VLANs.   We setup the DHCP server for the vlan2 (192.168.3.0 network), it never hands out an IP address to the clients for some reaosn.

We're thinking we should maybe using one of those fiber trasncievers and hooking that to the router, via fiber.   Any suggetions?

-- Never stop learning.
9 REPLIES 9
parnassus
Honored Contributor

Spork_Schivago wrote: We have a 5900AF-48G-4XG-2QSFP+ 48-port gigabit switch.

Pretty powerful, the HPE FlexFabric 5900AF 48G 4XG 2QSFP+ Switch (HPE SKU: JG510A) you have belongs to the Layer 3 fixed port managed Switch familiy used in datacenter as ToR (Top of Rack), it's a 48 ports Gigabit Ethernet, 4 ports 10Gigabit Ethernet plus 2 QSFP+ ports).

Spork_Schivago wrote: How do people generally hook these switches to a router?   Do we buy a transceiever and hook the router to one of the 40 Gbps ports?   We do plug an ethernet cable from the router to one of the ports?