7368 Online
108811 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: IRF setup / STP / loop detection

Trukosh
Visitor

IRF setup / STP / loop detection

Hello,

i am relatively new to networking topics and plan some bigger changes in our environment.
I home some of you experts can give me a thumb up/down to my plans.

We do have 2 * HP 5800 (was 3COM) as core switches + 6 * HP 2900AL48.

Current setup is:
- The 5800 are connected with 2 cables with LACP/trunk.
- Every 2900 is connected with 4 cables, 2 to both 5800. The 2 Cables/ports are trunked.
- Rapid Spanning tree is enabled on all devices. The 5800 have been given highest STP priority.
- There are also some servers connected to the 5800 switches (one cable to each 5800), each with an active passive bonding.

What i don't like:
- Even with RSTP enabled (Perhaps there is sth wrong) every STP change (because of changes, upgrade or unplanned downtime) affects the whole network.
- I want the servers to have active active bonding to higher bandwith (not, that we can really use it ;-) - i just like to get the most possible out of the setup)

Planned changes:
- physical topology stays the same
- enable IRF on the 2 5800 switches and stack them (2 * 40Gig cables/adapter are available)
- set up (irf)trunks over switch border on 5800er switches
- trunk all 4 cables/ports on the 2900 switches (connected with 2 to each switch)
- servers trunk active active 
- disable STP on all switches
- enable loop detection on the 2900 switches for all ports

Expected improvements:
- 5800 switches bandwith from 20 Gbit to 40 (or is it even 80?) Gbit
- 2900 switches bandwith from 2Gbit to 4 Gbit 
- Server bandwith from 1 to 2 / 10 to 20 Gbit
- No more spanning tree changes
- the 5800er switches are totally redundant, so only effect of a downtime would be, that half of the bandwith has gone, but with disabled STP no disruption of network traffic
-  With 2900 downtime only this segment is affected - again no STP, so no disruption in network traffic