1753529 Members
4856 Online
108795 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Link Aggregation/ Trunking

mjwlaz
Contributor

Link Aggregation/ Trunking

I am very new to the idea of link aggregation and am hoping one of the experts here can help me use it to my advantage.

First some facts:

I have 2 Baseline 2848-SFP Plus Switches

I have an intensive SQL application that comprises about 70% of the software our company relies on for doing business

I have a couple of Broadcom NetExtreme NICs configured for "Smart Load Balancing"

Smart Load Balance and Failover In this type of team, a standby member handles the traffic if all of the load balance members fail (a failover event). All load balance members have to fail before the standby member takes over. When one or more of the load balance members is restored (fallback), the restored team member(s) resumes the handling of the traffic. The LiveLink feature is supported only for this type of team.

I was thinking about teaming when I took a look at my switches. I'm pretty sure that with Broadcom's Smart Load Balance and Failover configuration my NICs team up to increase the throughput to the server AND one backs the other up in the event of failure.

Is there a benefit to creating a "team" in the switch as well?

If I group the ports on the switch what does the combined throughput become?

If I group 2 ports on the switch where is the combined throughput directed?

What I'm thinking of doing is this:

Switch A: Create a 2 port group. One of the ports will be connected to NIC A in my server.

Switch B: Sames as above except connected to NIC B

On the server NICs A & B will remain teamed.

Will this work? What are the specs of the improvement I will see?

If 2 ports on the switch are grouped are they then allowing 2GB to pass through instead of the 1GB each one is rated for?

If so, does it follow that the server will then be getting 4GB of data passed to it as a result of the grouping on the switch?