6150 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

QoS configuration

Suzuki_NTUX
Occasional Advisor

QoS configuration

Helo all!

i'm new to configure QoS on switches HP. I have one HP 5130 and some HP 1910. I try to found a QoS configuration to my hp 5130 but i saw a lot of foruns but i have a lot of doubts. Is it possible to anyone help me with this situation?

I do'nt have a voice vlan, i just use vlan default with softphones.  The man who sold this solution send me some data to configuration:

cos_sip=4 ; Sets 802.1p priority for SIP packets.
cos_audio=5 ; Sets 802.1p priority for RTP audio packets.
cos_video=6 ; Sets 802.1p priority for RTP video packets.
cos_text=3 ; Sets 802.1p priority for RTP text packets.

tos_sip=cs3 ; Sets TOS for SIP packets.
tos_audio=ef ; Sets TOS for RTP audio packets.
tos_video=af41 ; Sets TOS for RTP video packets.
tos_text=af41 ; Sets TOS for RTP text packets.

I don't have any knoledge on QoS configuration, but i read than i can configure with qos trust dscp on all interfaces and this is will resolve my issue. Is it right?

Regards,

Suzuki_NTUX

3 REPLIES 3
Ian Vaughan
Honored Contributor

Re: QoS configuration

Howdy,

There are all kinds of books, blogs, training courses and articles dedicated to the subject of QoS.

Ask yourself a couple of questions before you begin:

1) Are your users getting a "bad" experience from the service?

2) Is this bad experience caused by occasionally not enough bandwidth being available some of the time?  

To be honest you shouldn't really need QoS on a LAN unless you have a niche case as you should almost always be able to add more bandwidth to get yourself out of trouble. QoS doesn't solve ageneral lack of bandwidth issue - it just smoothes out the occasional peak load.