1752815 Members
5971 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Requirements of LAG in a Stacked Deployment

Architecture
Occasional Collector

Requirements of LAG in a Stacked Deployment

My company recently purchased a pair of MSR2004-24 routers for one of our sites and I'm having some difficulty configuring a few functions. This is my first experience with Comware and my background is primarily in Cisco devices, so the difference in syntax and certain technologies are things I've yet to fully adapt to. I have a few brief questions that I'm hoping can be cleared up rather quickly by someone with more experience deploying HPE gear.

The routers support stacking via IRF, but appear to only support it over a single one of the routed ports. When I try to add additional ports to the IRF port, the CLI rejects the command and provides the following error:

[HPE-irf-port2/2]port g i g2/0/1
Check failed for reason:
IRF FAIL ifindex not support Bind!

Can someone explain this error to me? Fairly extensive Google searching has yielded little helpful information. Any input would be appreciated. This IRF FAIL message appears on any other port other than GbE X/0/0 on either router. Does IRF care whether a port is set operationally to L2 or L3? My impression, based on documentation, is that IRF supersedes L2 & L3 awareness for the ports on which its configured. Are expansion modules required to configure multi-port IRF on the MSR2004-24?

If I stick with a single physical port configured for IRF, I can successfully get the IRF port up and running.

This leads into me to my next issue: I cannot seem to create an LAG across the two routers into a common switch.  The common switch is a Cisco 2960, set to use LACP to negotiate the LAG. The trunking parameters are the same on both the routers and the switch.

When I try to form the connection, I get the following error: