1752720 Members
5641 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

File Striping for Oracle Database

SOLVED
Go to solution

File Striping for Oracle Database

I am a DBA. I am not a HP guru. I was listening to a presentation by Tom Kyte, VP, Oracle in the internet. He said, "Prior to RAID arrays and file system striping, DBAs attempt to spread I/O out by spreading data and index files. But now, underlying file system is striped; One big mount point is carved out of hundreds of physical devices, underneath. I/O is spread across all of those devices evenly.". I asked our system Administrator to comment on this with respect to our environment. Her answer was:"This is correct, however on the HPUX systems we do not use RAID, we use mirrors.". I did not understand this. As far as I understand, mirroring is to duplicate one physical disk by another. If a disk fails, repalce it. It will sync itself with the O.K. one. How this mirroring meets the requirement of file system striping? Please help me to understand this in a high level plain English. Thanks.
18 REPLIES 18
Sandman!
Honored Contributor

Re: File Striping for Oracle Database

What kind of storage is your data on...JBOD or high-end arrays like XP's?
Christian Tremblay
Trusted Contributor

If your storage sits on a RAID disk array, then volume disk striping makes no sense since the array itself will manage where on the physical disks your data will be written.

She may have been telling you that you don't have intelligent disk arrays in your environment then striping over multiple disks makes sense. Mirroring is just writing to 2 or more physical disks at once.

I can go back to her and find out what kind of storage is ours. But I doublt if I get any response which will make sense to me. It is a commin disk array shared between 2 HP boxes (HP-UX B.11.11 U 9000/800).
Alzhy
Honored Contributor

Logan,