108782 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: LVM Layout for Oracle under SAN EVA 5000

SOLVED
Go to solution
Simon Stanford

LVM Layout for Oracle under SAN EVA 5000

Hi,

Has anyone got any experience of using Oracle 9i and 10g when the databases will be physically stored on an EVA 5000 SAN?

We are used to having FC10 fibre arrays where we have separate oracle file systems based around disk spindles etc.

On the SAN we will have a single Oracle LUN presented to us. Should we slice this up using LVM to separate filesystems or have it as a single filesystem and just use directories to give it structure.

Does anyone have any recommendations?

Thanks.
10 REPLIES 10
James R. Ferguson
Acclaimed Contributor

Hi Simon:

My comments are general ones. I have no experience with Oracle 10i.

I would opt for presenting multiple logical volumes (with filesystems therein) as opposed to a single filesystem. This gives you the ability to utilize different VxFS (JFS) mount options for performance should you choose.

Regards!

...JRF....
Piergiacomo Perini
Trusted Contributor

Hi Simon,
in my opinion using LVM to separate filesystems
is better.

regards
Luk Vandenbussche
Honored Contributor

Hi Simon

If possible ask for multiple LUNs

It is better to spread the data over multiples LUNS.

If possible ask also for VRAID-1 LUNS
A. Clay Stephenson
Acclaimed Contributor

Ideally, give the SAN back its single LUN and ask them to carve this single LUN into as many LUN's as your have SCSI path's to the SAN. For example, if your single LUN is 1000MB and you have 2 SCSI paths to the SAN then ask for 2 500MB LUN's. You then create your volume group isung these 2 LUN's. The Primary path to LUN0 should be through SCSI Path A (Alternate B) and the Primary Path to LUN1 should be SCSI Path B (Alternate A).