4990 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: ORA-01555: snapshot too old

kohli
Occasional Contributor

ORA-01555: snapshot too old

Hi all,

I know that this problem is all too common but I really need some help on this. I'm new with Databases so please bear with me. I feel that the common solution given to this problem doesn't always work. I have extended my rollback by 3 folds but still doesn't work. The rollback segments didn't even grow. Exporting as SYSTEM gave no problems. Can it be due to the insufficient rollback segments?
I have seven rollback segments and with approx 160 DB users at a given time. Can adding more rollback segments help?
9 REPLIES 9
twang
Honored Contributor

"ORA 1555 snapshot too old" can be caused by "rollback segment too small", it is because rollback records needed by a reader for consistent read are overwritten by other writers, the operation that failed the information it needs to construct a read consistent view of the data is no longer available. The main way to avoid this is to use larger rollback segments across the system. This gives you a longer period of grace before 'old' rollback infomation gets overwritten. It is typically no use just enlarging a single rollback segment.
For long running reports, try to run these when the database is lightly loaded so that the chance of a rollback segment wrapping is reduced (as there are fewer transactions in progress and hence less rollback information being generated). Try using an ORDER BY clause that forces a sort in the query - this should produce the row-source up front so undo is only needed while this ordered row-source is produced.
kohli
Occasional Contributor

My problem is when I do a DB export.
I did enlarge all rollback segment Initial and Next extent size but still have the same problem. How do we determine how many rollback segments is sufficient for our system?
twang
Honored Contributor

What version of oracle are you using? What is the exact error message?