Operating System - HP-UX
1748159 Members
3931 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Oracle 9i Rel2(9.0.2.0.1) raw disk or filesystem.

Yogeeraj_1
Honored Contributor

hi,
-
To me, /dev/.... looks no different then /d01/oradata, they are just files after all.
-
I have been using both. For instance, if you consider online redo logs - You never touch online redo logs for anything -- so they are safe on raw (and benefit the most from it -- write intensive)...
-
I've also seen ardent fans who always prefer putting a system together to always go for raw. The reasons being:
-
a) a PIO as reported as Oracle is very likely to be a real PIO, so you get a true picture of whats going on
-
b) the buffering is controlled by Oracle so as a DBA I have more control over it, and Oracle should yield smarter buffering, since it knows thing like extent and segment boundaries
-
c) you typically get some benefits from the OS layer (kernelised aio etc)
-
d) you do *not* get autoextend. Seeing this as a benefit because it forces you to do some decent sizing and planning up front (sadly lacking in many databases)
-
The historical arguments against raw were always management, administrators, etc, but nowadays, every OS as a simple GUI or equivalent to resize them, move them, create/drop them as if they were file systems anyway.
-
Many people "afraid of raw" -- like it is "harder". Perhaps that is because the DBA needs SA help to set things up (needs root everynow and again) and they feel a loss of control. Or, they really don't understand what RAW means. A major "fear" for OPS/RAC adopters has always been "oh, i have to use raw". We had to create a cluster file system just to work around that!
-
hope this helps too!
-
regards
Yogeeraj

No person was ever honoured for what he received. Honour has been the reward for what he gave (clavin coolidge)
Khalid A. Al-Tayaran
Valued Contributor

Hi,