Operating System - HP-UX
1752812 Members
5894 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Oracle 9i running on HP-UX with vpars, is Asynch IO possible? and other questions.

SOLVED
Go to solution
Yoann Mainguy
Occasional Advisor

Oracle 9i running on HP-UX with vpars, is Asynch IO possible? and other questions.

Hello all,

I'm a beginner on both Oracle and HP-UX. We have recently had installed the following system:

Oracle 9i (9.2.0.4.0)
running on HP-UX B.11.11 U 9000/800
using vpars A.02.03.02
on a RP7410
and a EVA3000 (which includes HSV100 controllers)

here is our /etc/fstab:
/dev/vg02/lvoracle /opt/oracle vxfs largefiles 0 2
/dev/vg03/lvdata /dbprod/data vxfs delaylog,largefiles,nodatainlog,mincache=direct,convosync=direct 0 2
/dev/vg03/lvindex /dbprod/index vxfs delaylog,largefiles,nodatainlog,mincache=direct,convosync=direct 0 2
/dev/vg03/lvroll /dbprod/roll vxfs delaylog,largefiles,nodatainlog,mincache=direct,convosync=direct 0 2
/dev/vg03/lvtempo /dbprod/tempo vxfs delaylog,largefiles,nodatainlog,mincache=direct,convosync=direct 0 2
/dev/vg03/lvredo /dbprod/redo vxfs delaylog,largefiles,nodatainlog,mincache=direct,convosync=direct 0 2
/dev/vg04/lvarch /dbprod/archive vxfs log,largefiles,nodatainlog,mincache=direct,convosync=direct 0 2
/dev/vg05/lvgenrx /dbprod/app vxfs rw,suid,largefiles,delaylog,datainlog 0 2

You can see we don't use RAW files for oracle, and Oracle is configured with disk_asynch_io=false. As far as I can tell the HPUX was never installed and configured with the async drivers.

We are a bit concerned that our system is not optimally configured, So I have spent a lot of time reading these lists and HP/Oracle docs, especially this very usefull doc "http://h21007.www2.hp.com/dspp/files/unprotected/database/HP3KOracle.ppt"

My questions are:
1-- Is Async IO possible on Vpars? (I read one doc that said no, but the install doc above does not seem to specifically say yes or no).