4688 Online
108786 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Servcie Level Agreement between SA's and DBA's

Steve Barlow_5
Advisor

Servcie Level Agreement between SA's and DBA's

Hi,

I have been tasked with creating an SLA between DBA's and SA's. I am a DBA, have been an SA in the past. The SA's have some policies and procedures (change controls) in place but no firm SLA. I would like to know if anyone out there has created an SLA from the DBA perspective. In other words what should we require of our SA's.

Would you be willing to share your SLA, or just your thoughts?

Thanks,

Steve
13 REPLIES 13
Tom Geudens
Honored Contributor

Hi,
Just the point of view from a former DBA (now SA).
We had the same problem, but if you look at it from some distance, making a SLA from either point is wrong ! Let's face it, what are you bringing "down" when your modifying systems or databases ? Your bringing down applications. Who are using these applications ? EndUsers. Who is paying for the uptime of both databases and machines ? EndUsers. Who should (logically) be making the SLA requests ? Right :-).

For our retail-servers, SLA is during retail hours, for internet-servers it's 24x24,7x7, and so on. All depending on the requested SLA (and they are PAYING for it offcourse) of the EndUsers.

Just my 0,02???
Tom Geudens
A life ? Cool ! Where can I download one of those from ?
Steve Barlow_5
Advisor

Agreed and we are working on those as well. However we are having great difficulties with our SA group agreeing to perform the work we request.

We need some agreement in place that outline our deliverables to the SA's and theirs to the DBA's.
A. Clay Stephenson
Acclaimed Contributor

Hi Steve,