Operating System - HP-UX
1753768 Members
4861 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Switching between mulitple IPs in an active/active configuration...

SOLVED
Go to solution
Alex J Early Jr

Switching between mulitple IPs in an active/active configuration...

We have a SuperDome in a highavailability network configuration. Upon failure of one IP path, we would like to have all network traffic
seemlessly moved to the second IP path. My question is, does MCServiceGuard support this type of configuration? Both IP addresses would be visible to the network.

Alex Early
6 REPLIES 6
Mel Burslan
Honored Contributor

serviceguard anything but "seamless"
the definition of serviceguard is "highly available". It is NOT "non-stop"

to attain this functionality, you need to look into HP-APA (auto port aggregation) which adjoins 2 or more network interfaces to give you redundancy or higher data throughput depending on how you configure it.

Not being an APA expert myself, I can suggest, if you have support agreement with HP, call the RC and they can walk you thru the process. It is a little complex but quite straight forward.

HTH

By the way, I noticed that you placed this question under the databases forum. If you are asking this for database redundancy, I would strongly suggest to talk to your database vendor at the same time. Because, as far as my tiny database knowledge goes, only some specific version/configuration of oracle is able to support such a setup. Beware...

Hi Alex,

May be i do not understand you correct but if you condigure a fail over interface all traffic will automaticly switch to the stand by interface. If you want both ( multiple) interfaces active at the same time you can take a look at APA. It is a product that needs a license.

more info: