Operating System - HP-UX
1752587 Members
4218 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Why oracle recommand using file system to store data?

SOLVED
Go to solution
Eric LO
Occasional Contributor

Why oracle recommand using file system to store data?

Hi all expert,
I'm a junior dba at oracle. Do anyone answer me following questions?
1, Why oracle recommand using file system to store data? According as I know, most of oracle database store data in file system rather raw device.
2, Why oracle using raw device to store data in OPS environment? Can I implement OPS using file system?

We know raw device provide better i/o performance, informix, sybase using raw device to store data, but oracle doesn't recommand.

thanks ....
10 REPLIES 10
twang
Honored Contributor

1. File System Characteristics
When choosing a file system, performance is not the most important point. A fast file system is not usable, if there is a risk that data is corrupted, lost or compromised. Oracle database does not support files on file system that do not have a write-through-cache capability. The file system must acknowledge the write operations.