4918 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: editing .ora files

Omar Alvi_1
Super Advisor

editing .ora files

Hi,

I'm totally new to oracle. In fact I'm installing a product called visionael, which requires oracle, and the manuals assume that you know Oracle.

neway, my question at the moment is, how do you edit .ora files, like spfiledb.ora, tnsnames.ora. In Windows it gives part rubbish when opening it.

Any help greatly appreciated.

A pointer to a good basics guide would be extremely helpful as well

Regards,

-Alvi
20 REPLIES 20
Sanjay_6
Honored Contributor

Hi,

Have you tried the oracle docs website.

http://otn.oracle.com/documentation/index.html

I don't know about spfiledb.ora but tnsnames.ora is a text file and any editor should be able to open it without showing the content as junk. I would hope the other file would be text too. Check your editor.

Hope this helps.

Regds
Tom Geudens
Honored Contributor

Hi,
As was stated you should be able to edit those files with a "normal" texteditor (preferably do not try Word :-). Try "vi" on the Unix host itself. If that works (and does not show "rubbish") there's probably a conversion problem between your Windows Workstation an the Unix host.

Regards,
Tom Geudens
A life ? Cool ! Where can I download one of those from ?
Tom Geudens
Honored Contributor

Hi,
Correction !!!
I checked up on this spfiledb.ora (which did not sound familiar, I'm an ex-DBA) and found the following link : http://databasejournal.com/features/oracle/article.php/2212711
This would suggest that spfiledb.ora is a binary file that you do NOT edit with a texteditor.

tnsnames.ora is definitly a textfile however ...

Regards,
Tom Geudens
Omar Alvi_1
Super Advisor

Thanks Sanjay and Tom,

especially for following up on the answer.

This step by step installation guide leaves a lot to be desired, assuming the reader to be an oracle and sql expert :(

Thanks again for your help. There should be some tool to edit some of these files.