1752583 Members
4974 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: export problems ?

Henrique Silva_3
Regular Advisor

export problems ?

I am doing an export based on schema from a production box that I need to get into a development box.

when trying to import the data, I get an error, because of child/parent relationship. I think the sql is trying to create a child table before its parent exists.

since I am new to oracle tools, could I export the data with constraints=NO, import the data in, then turn constraints ON on the new instance ? Is there a way to export the constraints only ?

We do not have access to the Unix box, and can not simply do a hot backup either. So, it will have to be done via export :-(((

Any help will be appreciated !!!

Henrique Silva

PS.: What is the CONSISTENT option for ? It says cross table consistency !!!
"to be or not to be, what was the question ???? "
4 REPLIES 4

I can think of a couple of options.
Import the parent table on its own
before the child table
imp file=mydata.dmp tables=parent_table
imp file=mydata.dmp tables=child_table

or do the import without constraints
imp file=mydata.dmp constraints=n rows=y indexes=y
then do the import with constraints only
imp file=mydata.dmp constraints=y rows=n indexes=n

quoting the manual on consistent:
"Specifies whether or not Export uses the SET TRANSACTION READ ONLY statement to ensure that the data seen by Export is consistent to a single point in time and does not change during the execution of the export command. You should specify CONSISTENT=Y when you anticipate that other applications will be updating the target data after an export has started."

Cheers
/Matt
Jean-Luc Oudart
Honored Contributor

You should use the consistent option if the database is being updated by other transactions during your export.

Jean-Luc
fiat lux
Raynald Boucher
Super Advisor

Looks like you are importing into existing objects.

You could drop the target user and recreate it, a