Digital Transformation
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

So, who should we have in our "DevOps" team?

mikeshaw747

In my last blog post, I talked about how DevOps and Continuous Deployment will really struggle if all you involve is the dev and ops teams. So, what other groups need to be involved and how do they need to be involved?

who involved in DevOps.png

The Product Owner
The other day, I was talking to someone who has used Agile Development for a number of years. She said that her biggest problem was the Product Owner. He was set in his ways. For the last 30 years, he had been creating a requirements spec followed by an external spec, followed by a pause of about a year while R&D did the coding. He would then sign up a few beta customers, send them the tape (he called it a "tape" even though we've moved on from tape) and call them "to see if it was OK". (I was a product manager for many years. This is what I did too).

This is not Agile; it’s not Continuous Innovation. The Product Owner needs to create user stories for the sprints. He needs to work with the team on story prioritization in sprint planning. And then he needs to actively get each sprint accepted – “I’ve had a play with the latest sprint – it looks good” simply doesn’t cut it.

And if the product owner is not prepared to change from his waterfall habits, then I would suggest you need to get another product owner (or, you can do what a lot of teams do which is to leave the product owner in place and use an architect to act as the true product owner, which is not really a good solution, but is sometimes all you can do).

Operations
Of course operations needs to involved in DevOps. And if we can get some "operations shift left" into what we do, this will make a huge difference. What do we mean by "shift left" in an operations context?