Disk Enclosures
1753963 Members
7144 Online
108811 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

ARMServer problems or hardware problems?

Alex Georgiev
Regular Advisor

ARMServer problems or hardware problems?

I'm new to HP-UX and the HP RAID arrays, so please bear with me.

A few days ago I noticed an error message by the array monitor deamon, saying that /dev/rdsk/c1t0d0 is inaccessible. I then called the people who support our HP-UX box asking for help. They said it's a software problem with the ARMServer, and that the arraymond message comes up when the ARMServer isn't running.

The bottom line: ARMServer stops running by itself!? Crashing might be a better word, but I did not find any core files. Nobody seems to know why would the ARMServer stop all by itself... Could it be a hardware problem that's causing that?

I get the feeling that the company responsible for supporting the HP-UX 10.20 machine are not as knowledgable as they should be, and of course I myself am more into the Linux/Solaris world and have little experience with troubleshooting RAID arrays and SCSI problems.

I did find a bunch of registry dumps and SCSI error/diag messages in the syslog. It says that the SCSI bus was reset. The messages you will see sometimes appear every 2 minutes, other times every 20 or so. If anyone could help me and tell me what do the syslog messages mean and why is ARMServer stoping I would very, very much appreciate it! Even just ideas as to where I should look for clues would be helpful. A small chunk of the syslog file is attached as syslog.txt.

To cap this off, I tried getting some info with arraydsp and arraylog, and those commands don't seem to work. For example, arraydsp -i just sits there without printing anything. I would try tracing it when I get a chance, but I doubt that that will help me much. Things are just looking pretty scarry...

Let me know if I need to post any more info. Thanks for any responses in advance!
3 REPLIES 3
Insu Kim
Honored Contributor