1751704 Members
5716 Online
108781 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Adding drives to RAID 5

Tyson T
Occasional Advisor

Adding drives to RAID 5

I have a ProLiant ML350 G5 with a 3-disk RAID-5 (3x 72 Gb). The controller is a Smart Array E200i in Embedded Slot. The array is configured with 2 logical drives each of which are a basic disk in Windows bearing their own drive letters of C: and E:. Both drives are pretty much tapped on space, so I need to increase the size of both.

What is the best way to go about doing this? Can I just add a few more 72 Gb disks and then use the ACU software to increase the allotted amount to each logical drive? I am fairly new to dealing with RAID and I am the IT department here so any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Tyson
14 REPLIES 14
Clarete Riana
Valued Contributor

Re: Adding drives to RAID 5

Yes you can add more drives to increase the space. Most array configuration utilities let you do this in two steps. First one to expand the logical unit to add more disks. By doing this the logical drive will spread across the new disks( size remains the same). Second one to extend(increase the size) once the expand is complete.
gregersenj
Honored Contributor

You can extend the E: drive only.

The downside of having multible Logical drives on a Smart array, is that you can extend the upper/last logical drive only.

But are you sure that you have got 2 logical drives?
And not 1 logical drive, that are partitioned by the OS ?

BR
/jag

Accept or Kudo

Clarete Riana
Valued Contributor

>>>The downside of having multible Logical drives on a Smart array, is that you can extend the upper/last logical drive only.

Well, this is not true on most smart arrays. I am not sure about E200i. Most other smart array controllers allow extension of all logical drives in a disk group. Is this a limitation specific to E200i?
gregersenj
Honored Contributor

I have been told that it's a limitation on the smart array controllers.