4738 Online
108783 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Can't see LUNs via standby controller on MSA 1000

SOLVED
Go to solution
Graham Whiteside

Can't see LUNs via standby controller on MSA 1000

I'm an MSA newbie and I need some help with a problem I'm having with an MSA1000.

The MSA has two controllers, each with a single fibre port. The primary controller is connected to server A, and the standby controller is connected to server B. Servers are running NT4.

The idea is that if server A fails, the Admin turns it off, and powers up server B (a clone of server A).

The problem is that I can't see the LUNs via the standby controller. I have tried the following:

1) Unplugging the fibre from the primary controller.
2) Removing the primary controller.
3) Connecting server A to the standby controller, and server B to the primary. Again the server connected to the standby controller cannot see the LUNs.

One other thing to note - the LUNs were created using ACU with only the primary controller installed. The backup controller was added later. Not sure if this is significant.

I know the configuration must work because we have another MSA in the same configuration and it works fine!

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
9 REPLIES 9
Getmein4san

Just the Standby controller has configured exactly the same the primary controller.
Stephen Kebbell
Honored Contributor

That last answer does not make much sense. Not sure if you can configure the controllers individually.

What firmware is on the MSA1000? What does ACU say about the 2nd controller? Do you use Selective Storage Presentation?

Regards,
Stephen
Graham Whiteside

I'm not sure what the firmware level is - I'll need to check.

When I run up ACU on the server connected to the primary controller, the standby isn't mentioned. If I do the same on the server connected to the standby, it displays a message reporting that the controller is a standby and therefore can't be reconfigured.