Disk Enclosures
1748224 Members
4480 Online
108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: EVA 4400 - slow performance? (Testing with IOmeter)

sam bell
Regular Advisor

EVA 4400 - slow performance? (Testing with IOmeter)

Hi,

I'm new to the EVA and not an expert in storage and have a question regarding the measured performance of an EVA4400 using IOmeter.

I have two HP DL380 G6 with Windows Server 2008 x64 that are connected to a Vraid5 Vdisk of an EVA4400 through QLogic FC1242SR FCA and HP Storageworks 8/8 SAN-Switches. The EVA4400 is equipped with 24 10krpm 300GB FC-drives which are all configured in a single disk group.

When testing the performance on the server using IOmeter I seem to get strange results.

I.e., when performing a test with 4K 100% random reads over a 1GB test file I only get a result of about 224 IOPS (0.88MB/s):

http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=eva4400-4k-randomreadkd0o.jpg

However, when performing exactly the same test on the server's local raid array (RAID5 over 3x 10krpm 146GB 2,5" SAS) I achieve a higher result of about 532 IOPS (2.08 MB/s):

http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=local-4k-randomreadrc35.jpg

When using a test profile with 32k 100% sequential reads, performance is about the same (3200 IOPS for the EVA, 3400 IOPS for the local storage).

Isn't the EVA with its 24 disks supposed to achieve much higher results than the local storage consisting of only three disks (there by the way currently is no production load on the ECA)? Or are there some other considerations to take into account when testing and comparing performance using IOmeter?

Thanks
Sam
4 REPLIES 4
V├нctor Cesp├│n
Honored Contributor

With 24x10K and 100% reads you can have up to 2,839 IOPS (11.3 MB/s) before read latency goes above 15 ms.

You must check how many I/Os are reaching the EVA and how long they take. EVAperf inserts counters on the Windows performance monitor.