New Discussion юеВ

Re: EVA - Terminlogies - Clarification Required

SOLVED
Go to solution
Karthik S S
Honored Contributor

EVA - Terminlogies - Clarification Required

Hi All,

I am new to EVA. I am not able to catch up with few jargons. Pl. help.

(Since I am a bit comfortable with the VA arrays, it will be helpful for me if you can relate the terms with VA Terminology)

1. What is HSV?

2. Is the term VCS different from HSV? If yes what is it meant for?

3. What is "Code Load"? Is it related to Firmware upgrade of the controller?

4. Is CommandView EVA and the HSV Elements Manager are the same??

5. If a EVA has to be managed from a SMA, I believe some license key (of the EVA that has to be managed) has to be input using Commandview EVA. How do I obtain this license key?

6. Is Vdisk refers to a LUN?. Then what is the difference between vdisk and a virtual disk family?

7. Why do we need to create a disk group?. Can I relate a diskgroup to Raidgroup of a VA array (ex: VA7100 Raidgroup). How many diskgroups can we have on a EVA3000? Is it directly proportional to the number of controllers?

8. What is a Vsnap?? Is it something similar to the snapshot feature available with Netapp appliances??.

9. How a Snapclone differs from a Vsnap?

10. Is there a list of terminlogy mappings b/w HP and Premerger Compaq??

Thanks in advance,
Karthik S S

Too many questions :-( ... but I thought separate post for each one of these will only complicate the things further :-)
For a list of all the ways technology has failed to improve the quality of life, please press three. - Alice Kahn
26 REPLIES 26
Leif Halvarsson_2
Honored Contributor
Solution

Hi,
1 HSV (100 or 110) is the name of the controller in the EVA array. Not sure what HSV is short for (High ....).

2 VCS= Virtual Controller Software.

3 -
4 Yes, Command View is the new name.
5 -
6 Vdisk (Virtual disk) refer to a LUN , Vdisks can be grouped into folders.