Storage Boards Cleanup
To make it easier to find information about HPE Storage products and solutions, we are doing spring cleaning. This includes consolidation of some older boards, and a simpler structure that more accurately reflects how people use HPE Storage.
Disk Arrays
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HP Proliant server

Dave Clarke_4
Occasional Visitor

HP Proliant server

Hello

I have the above model of server, with windows server 2000 freshly installed. There are 3 146Gb SCSI drives attached. Yet after windows has completed the initial install only 4Gb appear on the system. On reboot I am gettin the message "No SCSI boot devises present/detected". I am kinda new at the server end of things as you can probably guess. So the bios set-up is a mystery to me. Can anyone shed any light on how i may be able to get the system to recognise its full hard drive capacity??????

Many thanks
Dave
10 REPLIES
Andrzej Kowalik
Honored Contributor

Re: HP Proliant server

Hi,
What kind of server (model) do you have and what array controller?
regards,
Andrzej
Dave Clarke_4
Occasional Visitor

It is a HP Proliant ML370 server and a Raid 5 Array controller i think
Andrzej Kowalik
Honored Contributor

Wich generation server (ML370G?), which array controller type, did you use Smart Start CD - which version?
Dave Clarke_4
Occasional Visitor

It is a

ML370 G3 T03 (TOWER) Server
Compaq SMART ARRAY 641 PCI-X Controller Array
And yes it was version 7.10 of Smart Start
Andrzej Kowalik
Honored Contributor

Did you install in such manner:
1. Start from SmsrtStart
2. Than go to ACU and configure aray/logical disk(s)
3. Install OS via SnartStart setup?
Dave Clarke_4
Occasional Visitor

Yes i started from start smart...

ACU?

and yes chose the OS from start smart cd and then inserted the OS install disk...

Its the ACU step I aint to sure about..