New Discussion юеВ

Re: How to add new disks to existing disk groups in EVA4000

SOLVED
Go to solution
Dhananjaya Amarakoon
Regular Advisor

How to add new disks to existing disk groups in EVA4000

Hi Friends

I have EVA4000 (2C1D) and 8 disks (146 .8 GB) on it. We have decided to purchase another 6 (146.8GB) disks and add them to existing disk group. (Considering protection level (single) already configured and actual usable space that we can get).

I am trying to follow following steps to complete this task.Please correct me if I am wrong because I am new to EVA

Step 01

Adding new 6 disks to 9 to 14 slots (These are the free slots that EVA have) in the disk enclosure one by one after activate indicator stop flashing in each disk

After complete step 1 successfully, as in my knowledge if we check in EVA Command view, newly added 6 disks should be display in Ungroup Disks area and Storage system->Hardware->Rack->Disk enclosure->Bay(9 to 14) also

Step 02
Adding disks to existing disk group in following way.
As in my knowledge it is better to add 6 disks to Disk group as a group not a disk by disk.
So what is the best way to group these 6 disks? Through
Storage system->Hardware->Rack->Disk enclosure->Bay (9 to 14)

Or

Storage system->Disk Group->Add disks
(Hope this is the way)

Do I have to specify number of disks per disk group before adding them? Or is that EVA auto detected it after add? If not where should I specify it?

Can you tell me how long will it take to leveling process? what are the factors that affected for it?

I think it should not be present disk space to servers until leveling process completed?

So please help me regarding this. Is there any detail configuration guide for EVA through Command View other than "CV EVA user guide"?

Thanks & Regards
Dhananjaya Amarakoon
3 REPLIES 3
Luk Vandenbussche
Honored Contributor

Step 1 : OK
Step 2 : Add all the disk at once