1753260 Members
4701 Online
108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: MSA1510i iSCSI Configuration

Alexander Straub
Occasional Advisor

MSA1510i iSCSI Configuration

Has anybody a iSCSI Sample Configuration for me because i am new in the MSA iSCSI field. I want to make a redundant SAN Configuation over iSCSI protocal for 4 Windows 2003 Servers (non Cluster). How can a IP configuration for this szenario can look?
5 REPLIES 5
Allan D'Souza
Regular Advisor

If you can launch the a IE browser to your Management port, it should bring up the Storage Management Utility (SMU). If you have not configured any targets or storage units, you should see the "Wizard" tab and it will guide you through a very basic configuration process. You can all 4 servers have access to different luns on the same target created through the Wizard. Once you get more familiar with iSCSI terminology you can create your own targets and bind luns to each.
Kaj Laursen
Advisor

Hi Alexander

There are, in my opinion, primarily one thing that makes the IP configuration a bit difficult, and that's that there are no dedicated management interface.

I don't know the "perfect" configuration would be - the manual is a bit vague in my opinion. But I can describe how I did it.

I use 3 networks in the configuration, one for management, two for iSCSI traffic. VLAN 16 (10.1.16.0/24) for management, VLAN 64 (10.1.64.0/24)and VLAN 65 (10.1.65.0/24) for iSCSI traffic. The two VLANs 64 and 65 are not routed.

On the MSA, one controller gets IP in VLAN 64, the other in 65. The management port is defined with ip in VLAN 16, tagged with VLAN 16. The iSCSI ports are untagged.

On the network switch, the ports attached to the port on the MSA with management should be set to trunk (.1q), with default VLAN 64 and 65 respectively, and allowed VLAN 16 and 64/16 and 65 respectively. (reason for this below) The rest of the ports are set to static access in VLAN 64 or 65.