108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: MSA2000sa vdisk Volumes to Drives

SOLVED
Go to solution
T-Rock
Occasional Advisor

MSA2000sa vdisk Volumes to Drives

I'm new to the MSA2000. When I ordered it I assumed it wouldn't be very different than an MSA1000, which I'm very familiar with. Wow, nothing is the same...  It's been a tight learning curve but I've succeeded to create 4 volumes; one for the Quorum, one for SQL databases, one for User drives and one for the rest of the company Data.

The problem I'm having is that I don't know how to make them into formattable drives so they are visible to the server and I can start moving data. I'm not sure if I need to assign LUNs to the hosts or leave them with the default and if I do, how do I know what LUN to assign to what volume for each host?  I saw the drives (all 12) in Disk Management before I made the volumes and now they're gone.

My server OS is 2008 R2 x64 ENT w/SP1 fully up to date. It's connected by two SAS cables, one to each controller for Active/Active failover. The network configuration is as documentation suggests it to be.  I configured the SMU using the wizards.

Thanks, Tony

9 REPLIES 9
Johan Guldmyr
Honored Contributor

I believe it's called 'mapping' (the equivalent of SSP in MSA1000).
You need to use this to present the volume/LUN to the server.
You can right-click on the volumes/vdisks to get more options (took me a while to figure that out).
T-Rock
Occasional Advisor

Hi Johan,