1748080 Members
5248 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Problems connecting two EVAs 4100 with two FCIP mpx110

Luis_135
Advisor

Problems connecting two EVAs 4100 with two FCIP mpx110

I have two sites with one EVA4100 in each site. I have one Command View in each site.
I have CA license for each EVA

I have a FCIP distance gateway in each site.

I think that i have followed all configuration steps correctly in order to connect both EVAs.

IP gateways can see each other and they are properly connected to its corresponding EVA.

Problem is i cannot create a DR group from any of the Command Views. I have never done this before and im not sure how this is supposed to work.

Am i supposed to see both EVAs from one Command View? (because i don't)

Im probably missing one step and im not sure what it is.

Any help or comment will be very helpful.

thanks!!
8 REPLIES 8
Peter Mattei
Honored Contributor

Do you have one zone per fabric where all ports of both EVAs are in?
Only if the two EVAs "see" each other you can set up CA¨

Cheers
Pete
I love storage
Luis_135
Advisor

Peter,

thanks for the post!

in each site, i have configured each switch to have 23 zones, each of zones has as members the two ports where eva is connected plus one of the other ports.

For example, assuming EVA controllers are connected to ports 17 and 18, the zones are configured depending on the ports as this:

zone01: ports 17,18,1
zone02: ports 17,18,2
zone03: ports 17,18,3

Not sure why i did it this way, i have been told to by some HP engineer.

I have two switches in each site (redundant paths). Each switch is configured as explained above, with different domain id's all four of them.

I hope you can see my mistake, because im pretty lost.

Thanks again!!!
Peter Mattei
Honored Contributor

You are obviously doing port zoning. That is OK but I would use WWN zonig if possible since new stuff like NPIV etc require WWN zoning! See the HP SAN design guide and the FOS5.x admin guide on