Disk Enclosures
1753263 Members
5001 Online
108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Raid 5 to Raid 0

Tom Holdren

Raid 5 to Raid 0

I am a product consultant for a small company that also serves as a part-time network administrator.(9 person office, no full-time network admin) Anyway, my boss is convinced that we need more space on our server yet he does not want to purchase another hard drive. We have a server with 3 9gb drived that are using raid 5 so our real total space is about 18gb. He is insistent that we unraid them to get an extra 9 gb of space. I told him of the consequences(one goes, they all go). He is still willing to take that chance. Any suggestions? My plan was
1) get a good backup-just in case
2) change the raid settings from 5 to 0
3) reboot

I am sure it is not that simple but I am not sure. In theory will I lose any data or will it sort itself out. What types of things should I be prepared for. Will I need to run a restore? Or only restore if things go wrong?

tks
6 REPLIES 6
Tom Holdren

By the way this server is running windows nt 4.0
Gert Luyten
Respected Contributor

When posting to this forum, always give as much details as possible (server model, RAID type (hardware or software), RAID controller model, amount of data on the R5 drive, etc..).
In this way, we can answer your question.
A Proliant a day keeps the competition away!
Leif Halvarsson_2
Honored Contributor

Hi,
Does your Raid controller support changing Raid level without loosing the data. Most entry level Raid controllers does not.
Your plan seems OK but you perhaps have to restore the data again after reconfiguring the Raid controller.
Seth Parker
Trusted Contributor

Leif has an excellent point. If your boss isn't willing to spend the money to buy a $300 drive, it seems unlikely that the card would be smart enough to change the RAID level on the fly. I did a quick search and it looks like the 5300 controllers can, but not the LC2 controllers.