Disk Enclosures
1753325 Members
5456 Online
108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Spontaneous Drive Rebuilds!

Chai Milburn

Spontaneous Drive Rebuilds!

Hello everyone. If my question has been asked/answered before please point me to poster/date. This is my first time on this forum and I apologize for not searching the entire archives before posting but I do not have the time.
I am curious if anyone has experienced random drive failures on their Storage/12 RAID. The odd part is that the drive is actually fine and will rebuild upon itself. I have happened to arrive in the morning and catch the server rebuilding the drive. Upon checking the event viewer it shows that there were write errors for about an hour then it initiates a rebuild. So far this has occurred 3 times within a 2 month period. We have already replaced the backplane thinking that the connections were bad, but the event happened again. All of the firmware has been upgraded on both the controllers and hard drives. It is not reoccurring on the same drive either. Has anyone experienced this type of hardware error?
We have replaced the "bad" disks prior to this and the same thing happens. Im not sure where to look now. Any ideas?
Thank you
Chai Milburn

Netserver LH3R
Dual 500mhz
512 MB RAM
NT4 sp6a
bios 7/29/99

HP NetServer Rack Storage/12
12 disk: 36GB/disk

NetRaid 4M Controller 3.3
Bios 2.4-1 build 4607
Ultra 3 160mb
Public opinion is a weak tyrant compared with our own private opinion. What a man thinks of himself,
8 REPLIES 8
Marino Meloni_1
Honored Contributor

Re: Spontaneous Drive Rebuilds!

hi
first check in the disk event log if there are time out error or media errors,
if it is not a media error, check for last bios on the hdd and also the vendor.
The 4M is a hight level netraid controller, and perform some task alone, but have some rules to follow, you need to have the last bios on it, but also the last drivers and the last version of Fast utility
bye

marino
Chai Milburn