1753835 Members
7760 Online
108806 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: fc60 can't see disks in some slots

Allyn Fratkin
Occasional Contributor

fc60 can't see disks in some slots

i was replacing our 6 36GB hot spares with 73GB disks and making the 36GB disks "data" disks that would be bound into a LUN. i pulled the 36GB disks out and moved them to different slots, and
installed the 73GB disks in the slots where the old hot spare disks had been. i did NOT mark the 36GB spares "unassigned" before doing this (i forgot). now the 36GB disks cannot be seen in the new location!
(i should mention that i have never used slot 5 before so i don't know if it has ever worked with our FC60).

to add some detail, our FC60 array has slots 0-4 and 9 filled in each of 6 SC10 cabinets. the hot spares are in slot 9. i moved the disks in slot 9 to slot 5 in each SC10. now the FC60 acts like the slot 5's are disabled and won't see any disks in slot 5 (either the 73GB disks or the 36GB disks). the 36GB disks work fine in slots 6-8 but i want them in 5!

the FC 60 seems to be in some confused state. normally when a disk is inserted, the green led for that disk glows for a couple of seconds (powering up, i assume) and then a little while later stays on for about 30 seconds, which i assume is the FC60 checking out the disk. when a disk is inserted in slot 5, only the first led glow happens. the FC60 never follows up to investigate the drive.

what can i do? i've already tried moving the 36GB disks back to slot 9 and marking them "unassigned". but that didn't help anything. i'm going to power the whole thing off tomorrow and back on to see if that resets anything.

thanks.
2 REPLIES 2
Allyn Fratkin
Occasional Contributor

never mind. i power-cycled the array and it worked fine after that.
Bill McNAMARA_1
Honored Contributor

There is a power sequence to follow when
replacing/ inserting units into the FC60.