108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: A5158A Clariion LUN question

SOLVED
Go to solution
VINCENT SPURGEON
Frequent Advisor

A5158A Clariion LUN question

While waiting on the EMC guy to show up to power on my new CLariion CX600, I was thinking about LUNS. Boring life, eh?

I have an N-Class (11.0 w/Sept 2001 patches, but installing the Mar 2003 soon) that will be connected to the Clariion via a Tachyon A5158A Fibre Channel card. The same N-Class is connected to a FC10 and a XioTech Magnitude as well. All fibre connections are with

I can see all 10 drives on the FC10 and I have been using them for over two years no problem. But with the XioTech, I can only see up to 8 LUNS (or VDISKS). LUN ID's presented by the XioTech to the HP cannot be greater than 7 or they are not recognized.

My question, will I be limited to 8 LUNS per fibre channel card with the Clariion or will it present all the LUNS I create like the FC10 does.

Thanks.
It's only a flesh wound...
8 REPLIES 8
Michael Tully
Honored Contributor
Solution

No you will get all the LUN's that the clariion can see.

Have you worked what LUN sizing your going to have ? I suggest you don't make them too large, or you will loose your flexibility in LUN assignments to your volume groups. Suggest you get the latest A5158A driver from www.software.hp.com

"All fibre connections are with ..."
Anyone for a Mutiny ?
Tom Geudens
Honored Contributor

Hi Vincent,
Michael is (as always :-) 100% correct. Make sure you've got the A6795A driver (which caters for the A5158A fibre card as well, don't worry ;-).

Also note that you'll initially only see 1 device (times the number of fibre connections you have to the ClarIIon) if you're going to use AccessLogix.

Regards,
Tom Geudens
A life ? Cool ! Where can I download one of those from ?
m_88

I understand this is a limitation of Xiotech when using HP HBAs. If using Emulex HBA you can see beyond 8 luns. How has your experience the the Xiotech been?
Uwe Zessin