Disk Enclosures
1752583 Members
4720 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

AutoRaid arraydsp question

Chris Brezil

AutoRaid arraydsp question

I am somewhat new to the HP-UX world and am coming into a situation where an HP consultant has set up a machine here with an AutoRaid 12H. The AutoRaid has 12 9GB drives installed. Active Hot Spare is enabled on our system. I have been doing some research about the workings of the AutoRaid unit and while I believe I understand it in general, I am trying to understand some of the statistics that arraydsp has produced from our system. I have been unable to find out any of this information in the AutoRaid SysAdmin guide, so I figured I'd ask the experts.

I have run the arraydsp command on seperate days and gotten the following results:

Disk space usage
Total physical - 104198 MB
Allocated to LUNs - 78000 MB
Used as Active Hot spare - 8683 MB
Used by non-included disks - 0 MB
Used for Redundancy - 17061 MB
Unallocated - 454 MB
(All of the above was the same on both days - as I would expect since we made no changes)

On Day1
Raid 0/1 blocks - 19055872
Raid 0/1 capacity - 9304 MB

2 days later
Raid 0/1 blocks - 19513600
Raid 0/1 capacity - 9528 MB

How is the amount of Raid 0/1 storage calculated and why would it have changed over the course of the 3 days? I am assuming that since we only have 454 MB of unallocated storage for the AutoRaid to use for Raid 0/1 that it is also using the Active Hot Spare for this as I believe I read somewhere that it would. However, the sum of these two values is only 9137MB, which is less than the total Raid 0/1 storage indicated on either day. Where did this 'extra' storage come from? Also, if the AutoRaid uses the Active Hot Spare for Raid 0/1 storage and one of the disks in the raid does fail, how is the failed disk rebuilt onto the spare if the spare is being used for 0/1 storage?
4 REPLIES 4
Antoanetta Naghiu
Esteemed Contributor

Re: AutoRaid arraydsp question