108794 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Connecting FC10's to 2 machines

SOLVED
Go to solution
Martien Korenblom
Frequent Advisor

Connecting FC10's to 2 machines

I've got 2 L-class machines, both with 2 FC adapters. I also got 2 FC10's (one with 1 LCC and one with 2 LCC's).

Is it possible to connect both FC10's to both machines without getting into trouble? The documentation was not totally clear about it and I'm quite new to fibre-channel.
I don't have a solution, but I admire the problem
5 REPLIES 5
Eugeny Brychkov
Honored Contributor

The limitations are that
- you should have rotary switch set to the same value for BOTH LCCs in the FC10;
- you can not connect BOTH LCC in one FC-AL (arbitrated loop) because their addresses (alpas) are the same and disks alpas will be the same too, so there will be a conflict. If you will connect these LCCs into switch (not hub!) which is not in quickloop mode then it's ok;
- if both servers will see disks at one time then you should NOT mount volumes in r/w mode at both servers or use clustering software (MC/SG).
As soon as one FC10 has only one LCC how do you think to connect it to 2 servers? Using FC hub?
Eugeny
Martien Korenblom
Frequent Advisor

I'm sorry to say that I don't have an FC-hub.

So there should be an extra LCC to make it possible?
Eugeny Brychkov
Honored Contributor

Yes. Having only one LCC you can do only one connection: either direct to the host or ro the hub/switch. As soon as you have no hub/switch, you will e able to connect this FC10 to only one server.
With another FC10 there are some possibilities:
- connect one LCC to one server and another to another server, btu then need to install MC/SG for shared storage or set sharing up using LVM only;
- connect FC10's LCCs to different FC HBAs within one host. Then you'll have redundancy (2 paths to each disks)