New Discussion юеВ

EVA 3000 to EVA6100

SOLVED
Go to solution
kibler
Advisor

EVA 3000 to EVA6100

Hi!
First of all, sorry, if my questions are silly or too simple, I am quite new to EVAs

We want to "upgrade" two EVA 3000 to EVA6100. New EMU, new I/O-Modules will be installed. Also the controllers will be exchanged, and XCS6.110 will be used
On each EVA we are adding 3 new disk enclosures M5314C and upgrading 3 M5314

Here are some questions, maybe has anybody time to answer one ore the other

1.: Should we install CV absolutely new, or try to upgrade?

2.: what happens to the existing disk groups, will they be detected with their Vdisks. The quorum disks need to be detetcted, right?

3.: Shall we start up only with the existing disk shelfs with the disks in the bays as they are now, or should we add the 3 new disk shelfs and distribute the existing disks across all 6 enclosures, and then add the new disks

4.: Shall we upgrade the disk firmwares before we change the controllers to HSV200-B, or is this not a problem?

5.: What happens to the existing licenses? We have unlimited CA, CV, BisnessCopy on both EVA3000. Is┬┤nt there also a management volume, where the licenses are located? I assume, the licenses are only WWN-based, and these WWNs are changed when changing the controllers?

I would apreciate any suggestion or solution. This is my first big EVA-Project, till now I only worked with EVA3/4000 :-(

Thanks in advance
Walter

5 REPLIES 5
IBaltay
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: EVA 3000 to EVA6100

Hi,
Inroduction
based on the fact that you have bought the new controllers, loop switches, enclosure IO modules, EMU, etc., lets draw the attention to the other things

One general note, it is optimum to have 8 enclosures because of the internal EVA controller handling always with the groups of 8 disks (RSS). Then the reshuffling to the real vertical design make real sense (only 1 RSS member in one enclosure)